STUDENT SUPPORT SERVICES

Response to Intervenion (RTI)

RTI is an integrated approach to service delivery that encompasses general, remedial and special education through a multi-tiered service delivery model. It utilizes a problem solving framework to identify and address academic and behavioral difficulties for all students using scientific, research-based instruction.

Gifted Education

In Georgia, a gifted education student is defined as one who demonstrates a high degree of intellectual and/or creative ability(ies), exhibits an exceptionally high degree of motivation, and/or excels in specific academic fields, and who needs special instruction and/or special ancillary services to achieve at levels commensurate with his or her ability(ies).

Student Support Teams (SSTs)

Student Support Teams (SSTs), required in every Georgia public school, are teams of educators who meet to solve the academic and behavioral problems that students sometimes have.

Overview of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973

Section 504 prohibits discrimination against individuals whose physical or mental impairment substantially limits one or more major life activities, including:

  • Caring for one's self
  • Performing manual tasks
  • Walking
  • Seeing
  • Hearing
  • Speaking
  • Breathing
  • Working
  • Learning

Special Education
The Quitman County Schools Special Education Department strives to provide a complete range of services and supports for children with disabilities in the least restrictive environment. It is essential that we work interdependently and dutifully by providing assistance related to programming, professional learning, training of personnel, and assuring compliance with legal due process issues. The Special Education Department is committed to providing the assistance needed to ensure that all children with disabilities are receiving the most appropriate services possible. 

This includes individualized instruction to meet a student's educational and social needs in an effort to prepare the student for post-secondary education and/or employment and independent living. The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) is a federal law that provides for the education of students with disabilities. All students with disabilities, ages 3-21, have the right to receive a free, appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment, with their non-disabled peers, based on identified needs included in their Individualized Education Program (IEP).

For additional information contact:

Amye Murdock,
Director of Special Education

ayme.murdock@quitman.k12.ga.us

215 Kaigler Road
Georgetown, Georgia 39854

P: 229-334-4298
F: 229-334-2109

Deirdre Brown,
RTI/SST Coordinator

deirdre.brown@quitman.k12.ga.us

215 Kaigler Road
Georgetown, Ga 39854

P: 229-334-4298
F: 229-334-4700

Staff:

Alexis Farley, Special Education Teacher - alexis.farley@quitman.k12.ga.us

Tammy Taylor, Special Education Teacher - tammy.taylor@quitman.k12.ga.us

Lynne Baker, Special Education Teacher - lynn.baker@quitman.k12.ga.us

Frederick Drake, Special Education Teacher - frederick.drake@quitman.k12.ga.us

Evon Belflower, Paraprofessional - evon.belflower@quitman.k12.ga.us

Annie Banks, Paraprofessional - annie.banks@quitman.k12.ga.us

Brianca Allen, Paraprofessional brianca.allen@quitman.k12.ga.us

Christie Parker, Speech Pathologist - christie.parker@quitman.k12.ga.us

Courtney Murphy - Special EducationTeachercourtney.murphy@quitman.k12.ga.us

Kasey Parker -Special EducationTeacherkasey.parker@quitman.k12.ga.us

Contract Services, Vision Specialist - vision.teacher@yahoo.com

Night to Shine 2018
DOCUMENTS

Behavior Intervention Plan

Prior Written Notice

Child Find

FY20 MTSS Procedural Guide

Quitman County FY20 Policies and Procedures

Section 504 Policies and Procedures

Section 504 Procedural Safeguards